Belarus congratulates Ghalibaf on election as new Parl. Speaker

TEHRAN, Jun. 09 (MNA) – Belarus' Chairman of the House of Representatives Vladimir Andreichenko, in a congratulatory message to his Iranian counterpart Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf, felicitated his election as the new Iranian parliament Speaker.

Naming the two countries' parliamentary relations warm and close, Andreichenko hoped that Ghalibaf's election will boost Iran-Belarus negotiations and ties more than ever.  

On May 28, the new Iranian lawmakers elected Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf, a former mayor of Tehran, as the new speaker of the Parliament.

In an open session, Ghalibaf secured 230 votes out of a total of 264 votes cast to become the Parliament speaker, followed by Fereydoon Abbasi-Davani with 17 votes, and Mostafa Mirsalim – a candidate in the 2017 presidential elections – with 12 votes.

Amir-Hossein Ghazizadeh Hashemi and Ali Nikzad, both conservatives, were also elected as the first and second vice-speakers of the Parliament.

The new Parliament started its work on May 27 with Iranian President Hassan Rouhani, Judiciary Chief Hojatoleslam Seyed Ebrahim Raeisi, and Secretary of the Guardian Council Ayatollah Ahmad Jannati in attendance.

There are 290 seats in the Iranian Parliament. The lawmakers are elected for a 4-year term, with no limitation for the incumbent or former parliamentarians to run again.

As of his election, a number of his foreigner counters have sent congratulatory messages for Ghalibaf.


News Code 159616


Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 7 + 4 =