AFC announces annual award nominees without naming Beiranvand

TEHRAN, Nov. 19 (MNA) – The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) officially announced nominees for 2018 Annual Awards on Monday but the name of Iranian goalkeeper Alireza Beiranvand is not seen on the list despite earlier speculations.

On Sunday, the Arabic version of had tweeted that Beiranvand has been shortlisted for Asia’s best football player of the year. However, in the list published by the official website of the AFC, Japanese player Kento Misao has replaced Team Melli’s goalie.

Elsewhere in the list, there are two Iranian nominees for AFC Futsal Player of the Year; Ali Asghar Hasanzadeh and Mahdi Javid who have Rafael Henmi of Japan as their rival.

This year’s ceremony will be held at the Oman Convention & Exhibition Centre in Muscat on November 28, 2018, at 7:00 pm local time

Here is the full list of nominees:

Football Player of the Year


Kento Misao (Kashima Antlers and JPN)

Yuma Suzuki (Kashima Antlers and JPN)

Abdelkarim Hassan (Al Sadd and QAT)


Samantha Kerr (AUS)

Wang Shuang (CHN)

Saki Kumagai (JPN)

AFC Futsal Player of the Year

Rafael Henmi (JPN)

Ali Asghar Hasanzadeh (IRN)

Mahdi Javid (IRN)

AFC Youth Player of the Year


Fuka Nagano (JPN)

Moeka Minami (JPN)

Saori Takarada (JPN)


Jun Nishikawa (JPN)

Jeon Se-jin (KOR)

Turki Al Ammar (KSA)

AFC Coach of the Year


Asako Takakura (JPN)

Miyo Okamoto (JPN)

Nuengrutai Srathongvian (THA)


Basim Hamdan (IRQ)

Go Oiwa (JPN)

Ravshan Khaydarov (UZB)


News Code 139735


Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • captcha