First Shahriar Literary Award to name winner

TEHRAN, Aug. 26 (MNA) – Deputy General Director of Shahriar International Foundation has said the foundation will present the 1st Shahriar Literary Award to announce winners.

Seyed Hamed Madani told Mehr News that the foundation will hold the 1st ceremony of Shahriar Literary Award in remembrance of this Iranian renowned contemporary poet.

The prize is to be awarded to institutions, organizations and individuals whose efforts contribute to the works and life of contemporary Iranian poet and scholar Shahriar.

Madani added that the ceremony is to honor Shahriar's literary place in and contribution to Persian poetry, literary innovation, Persian Language promotion outside the country, and connecting world literature together. The ceremony will also honor academicians specializing in Shahriar poetry on the National Day of Persian Literature and Poetry, September 18.

Seyyed Mohammad Hossein Behjat-Tabrizi (1906-1988), known by his pen name Shahriar, was born in Tabriz and is best known for his straightforward language and easy-to-understand poems.

Shahriar was the first Iranian to write poetry in Azeri language and his most famous poem Heydar Babaya Salam, known by many as one of the best modern poems in Azeri language, has been adapted into a few plays.

Shahriar has written many different forms of verse, including lyrics, quatrains, couplets, odes, and elegies.

Shahriar died on September 18th, 1988. Every year Iran honors his memory on his death anniversary named as the National Day of Persian Literature and Poetry.

The first edition of Shahriar World Award is scheduled to be held on the same day in 2014.



News Code 103776

Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 3 + 1 =