Guardian Council knows new jurists

TEHRAN, Jul. 13 (MNA) – Iranian Parliament’s open session elected three new jurists for the Guardian Council on Wednesday morning.

Three jurists, among five candidates introduced by head of Iran’s Judiciary, were selected by the Iranian Parliament to join the country’s Guardian Council.

On the basis of vote counts, Abbasali Kadkhodaei (203 votes), Mohammadreza Alizadeh (178 votes) as well as Seyyed Fazlollah Mousavi (142 votes) were elected as new jurists of the Guardian Council by Parliament members.

Last week, Head of the Judiciary Ayatollah Sadegh Amoli Larijani had introduced five candidates to the Iranian Parliament including Abbasali Kadkhodaei, Mohammadreza Alizadeh, Ahmad Beigi Habibabadi, Mohammadhadi Sadeghi and Seyyed Fazlollah Mousavi.

The Guardian Council of the Islamic Republic of Iran consists of twelve members who are from among Muslim clerics and jurists. Six members of the Council are clerics selected by the Leader. The other six members are the jurists whom are proposed by the head of Iran Judiciary and voted by parliamentarians. 

The members of The Guardian Council are elected to serve for a period of six years, but after three years half of the members are replaced by three new members as a result of drawing lot.


News Code 118064


Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 2 + 12 =