7 major nominations for 4 Iranian films in 10th APSA  

TEHRAN, Oct. 24 (MNA) – Reza Mirkarimi’s ‘Daughter’ and Majid Majidi’s ‘Muhammad’ have been nominated for Best Feature Film among seven major nominations for Iranian films in the 10th Asia Pacific Screen Awards.

‘Daughter’ has also been honored with nominations for Best Screenplay for Mehran Kashani and Best Performance by an Actor for Farhad Aslani.

Muhammad Rasoulallah by Majid Majidi received two nominations, for Achievement in Cinematography for 3-time Academy Award winning Italian DOP Vittorio Storaro in addition to Best Feature Film.

These nominations add to the previously announced nominations of ‘Breath’ by Narges Abyar competing for APSA Best Youth Feature Film and ‘Starless Dreams’ by Mehrdad Oskouei nominated for Best Documentary Feature Film.

The winner of the 10th APSA FIAPF Award for Outstanding Achievement in Film in the Asia Pacific region, esteemed Iranian producer Manoochehr Mohammadi, was announced from Cannes earlier this year by APSA and the International Federation of Film Producers Associations (FIAPF). Mohammadi is the first Iranian to be honored with this prestigious career achievement award.

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards, the region’s highest accolade in film which recognizes and promotes cinematic excellence and cultural diversity of the world’s fastest growing film region: comprising 70 countries and areas, 4.5 billion people, one third of the earth and responsible for half of the world’s film output today announced the nominees in the 10th APSA narrative feature film achievements.

From a production pool that stretches from Egypt in the West to the Cook Islands in the East, and from Russia in the North to New Zealand in the South, in 2016, 39 films from 19 Asia Pacific countries and areas are nominated.

In the landmark tenth year of this event celebrating cinema and cultural diversity from 70 countries and areas, the 2016 APSA International Jury comprises five eminent former APSA Jury Presidents hailing from three continents. The 2016 APSA International Jury President is acclaimed Academy-Award winner Lord David Puttnam (United Kingdom, APSA 2010 Jury President), producer of Chariots of Fire and the Killing Fields. Puttnam will be joined by APSA Patron and co-founder and current Chairman of the Busan International Film Festival Kim Dong-Ho, prolific and multi-award winning producer from Hong Kong (PRC) Nansun Shi (APSA 2011), Palme d’Or and Academy Award-winning Australian producer Jan Chapman (APSA 2012), and celebrated Indian master filmmaker Shyam Benegal (APSA 2013).

Winners in the 10th anniversary edition of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards will be announced on Thursday 24 November from the 10th APSA Ceremony in Brisbane, Australia, and via a live webcast to the globe. The APSA ceremony, a glamorous black tie event, will be attended by a record number of 1000 guests, including the 2016 APSA nominees and jurors and 500 international guests. 

Nominated films are drawn from all over Asia Pacific encompassing films from Afghanistan, Australia, Cambodia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Egypt, Georgia, India, Iraq, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, People’s Republic of China, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of the Union of Myanmar, Russian Federation, Taiwan, Turkey, United Arab Emirates.


News Code 120776


Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 1 + 5 =