List of leaders to attend G15 summit in Tehran released

TEHRAN, May 12 (MNA) – Presidents of Algeria, Brazil, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Venezuela, Sri Lanka will attend the G15 summit in Tehran next Monday. The Syrian president, the Qatari emir, and Turkish prime minister are special guests to the conference.

The Group of 15, a group of 17 developing countries from Asia, Africa, and Latin America, was set up to foster cooperation and provide input for other international groups.

It is comprised of Algeria, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Iran, Jamaica, Kenya, Nigeria, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Venezuela, and Zimbabwe.

Algerian President Abdelaziz Bouteflika, Brazilian President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, Senegalese President Abdoulaye Wade, Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe, Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez, Syrian President Bashar al-Assad, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Qatar’s Emir Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani, and Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan will attend the summit, Mehrdad Parsa, the head of the Information Committee of the G15 summit, told the Fars news agency.

Parsa said India, Kenya, Egypt and Nigeria will be represented by their foreign ministers, adding the Malaysian finance minister and Indonesian vice president will also attend the summit.

Prior to the heads of state meeting, the G15 foreign ministers will meet in Tehran on Saturday and Sunday.

Foreign Ministry spokesman Ramin Mehmanparast had earlier said economic cooperation between G15 members, exploring new avenues for cooperation between the countries in the three continents, and a review of international developments will feature in the high-profile summit.


News Code 39774

Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • captcha