Larijani elected as Parl. speaker, 2 reformists as deputies

TEHRAN, May 31 (MNA) – Ali Larijani, who served as a speaker for the previous Parliament, was reinstated for Iran’s 10th parliament with 237 votes out of 276, while two reformist MPs were elected as his deputies.

During the open session on Tuesday, members of Iran’s Parliament (Majlis) after approval of their credentials elected Ali Larijani as the Speaker for the 10th Majlis with 237 votes out of 276.

The reformist MP Mostafa Kavakebian was also running as a candidate for the leadership of the parliament, but he only managed to gain 11 votes; 28 MPs cast blank votes into the box.

“I am truly grateful for your kindness and good faith in me and hope to have a peaceful and efficient parliament together with coordination and communion,” Larijani addressed the MPs after his reappointment as the Speaker for the 10th Parliament.

Reformist MPs Masoud Pezeshkian and Ali Motahari were elected as the first and second deputy speakers of the parliament with 158 and 133 votes, respectively.

Parliament verified credentials of 282 MPs out of the 290 lawmakers that comprise the 10th Parliament. The newly elected candidate to Parliament from Maragheh and Ajabshir passed away in a car accident, while Minoo Khaleghi, from the city of Isfahan, and elected MPs from Bandar Lengeh and Parsian electoral district have been disqualified by the Guardian Council.

Elections in Tabriz and Ahar electorate are currently being recounted, hence, the fate of the five MPs from these two districts are still undecided. 




News Code 116989


Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 8 + 9 =