“Nader and Simin”, “A Cube of Sugar” lead nominees at Iranian festival

TEHRAN, Aug. 29 (MNA) -- Asghar Farhadi’s family drama “Nader and Simin: A Separation” and Reza Mirkarimi’s “A Cube of Sugar” are standing on top with 10 nominations for the 15th edition of the Iran Cinema Celebration awards, the Public Relations Office of the event announced on Monday.

However, “Here without Me” by Bahram Tavakkoli comes next with nine nominations, the report added.

A jury comprised of 58 Iranian cineastes has completed its selection of nominations for the event. The annually held event is sponsored by Iran’s House of Cinema to celebrate Iran’s National Cinema Day, which falls on Sept. 12.

Set in contemporary Iran, “Nader and Simin” is a compelling drama about the dissolution of a marriage. The film won a Golden Bear for best film at the Berlin Film Festival this year and its cast ensemble received best actor and actress Silver Bears at the event.

In “A Cube of Sugar”, four sisters come home to help with preparations for their youngest sister’s engagement party and not everything goes as planned.

“Here without Me” is a contemporary Iranian adaptation of Tennessee Williams’ “Glass Menagerie”. Starring Negar Javaherian, Fatemeh Motamed-Arya, and Saber Abar, the movie features the story of a single mother who works hard to find a match for her painfully shy and lame-legged daughter, while her son dreams mostly of the cinema and escaping the trap of family obligations.

The following is a partial list of nominees for awards this year:

Best Film:
* “Women Only” by producer Ali Sartippi

* “Here without Me” by producer Saeid Sadi

* “Nader and Simin” by Asghar Farhadi

* “A Cube of Sugar” by Reza Mirkarimi

Best Director:

* Bahram Tavakkoli “Here without Me”

* Alireza Davudnejad “Salve”

* Mohammad Bozorgnia “The Maritime Silk Road”

* Asghar Farhadi “Nader and Simin”

* Reza Mirkarimi “A Cube of Sugar”

Best Actor

* Saeid Pursamimi “A Cube of Sugar”

* Peyman Mo’adi “Nader and Simin”

* Reza Attaran “Women Only”

* Mehdi Hashemi “Mr. Yusef”

Best Actress

* Vishka Asayesh “Women Only”

* Sareh Bayat “Nader and Simin”

* Ghazal Shakeri “Facing Mirrors”

* Fatemeh Motamed-Arya “Here without Me”

* Ladan Mostofi “Golchehreh”


News Code 47758

Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 5 + 11 =