Rouhani names key cabinet members

TEHRAN, Aug. 08 (MNA) – Iran’s President Hassan Rouhani has introduced nominees for his second-term cabinet on Tuesday.

President Rouhani, who swore in for his second tenure as Iran’s president on Saturday, introduced nominees for his cabinet during an open parliament session on Tuesday.

The proposed ministers include:

Ministry of Communications and Information Technology: Mohammad Javad Azari Jahromi

Ministry of Intelligence: Seyyed Mahmoud Alavi

Ministry of Economy and Finance: Masoud Karbasian

Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Mohammad Javad Zarif

Ministry of Education: Seyyed Mohammad Bathaei

Ministry of Health and Medical Education: Seyyed Hassan Ghazizadeh Hashemi

Ministry of Cooperation, Labor and Social Welfare: Ali Rabei

Ministry of Agriculture: Ali Hojjati

Ministry of Justice: Seyyed Alireza Avaei

Ministry of Defense: Amir Hatami

Ministry of Roads and Urban Development: Abbas Akhoundi

Ministry of Industry, Mine and Trade: Mohammad Shariatmadari

Ministry of Culture and Islamic Guidance: Seyyed Abbas Salehi

Interior Ministry: Abdolreza Rahmani Fazli

Ministry of Petroleum: Bijan Namdar Zanganeh

Ministry of Energy: Habibollah Bitaraf

Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports: Masoud Soltanifar

Other nominees for cabinet positions including Minister of Science, Research and Technology will be announced later.

Hassan Rouhani also re-appointed Es’haq Jahangiri as First Vice-President for a further period of four years.

Rouhani’s list of nominees does not include any female ministers despite his passionate defense of gender equality and women’s participation in the public sphere. 175 Iranian lawmakers had also called on President Rouhani to introduce “skillful and talented women” for his second-term cabinet.


News Code 126977


Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • captcha