Karbala, Tabriz named sister cities

TEHRAN, Aug. 09 (MNA) – Municipal officials of Iranian city of Tabriz and Iraqi holy city of Karbala announced the two cities as sisters.

In a meeting of officials from municipalities of Iraqi city of Karbala and Iranian city of Tabriz, held in northwestern Iranian city on Tuesday, the authorities of the two cities brokered the sisterhood deal between the two cities.

Following today announcement, Tabriz is in sisterhood with nine cities namely Azeri city of Ganja and capital city of Baku, Turkish cities of Istanbul and Erzurum, Tajik city of Khujand, Palestinian city of Gaza, Russian city of Kazan, and Mogilev city of Belarus.

Moreover, Chinese city of Wuhan and Turkish cities of Trabzon have friendship memoranda with Tabriz.

The capital city of Azerbaijan province of Iran, Tabriz homes around 2 million citizens and has been under a modern municipality since 1907.


News Code 118791


Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 1 + 2 =