TEHRAN, June 19 -- The winners of the "Palestinians Are Homeless" cartoon competition were announced on Saturday.

The Iranian jury members of the international Internet competition were Mohammad Ali Bani Assadi, Javad Alizadeh, Masud Zia’i, Mohammad Hussein Nirumand, and Mohammad Rafie Zia’i.


The four foreign jury members, Vladimir Kazanevsky from Ukraine, Carlos Amorim from Brazil, Dachun Xia from China, and Paolo Dalponte from Italy, voted by e-mail.


In the first phase of the voting each juror selected 10 works and in the semifinal phase winners were chosen from among 63 works. The winners were: Cristobal Rhinozo from Argentina, Majid Salehi, and Mohamad Amin Aqa’i from Iran, and Kao Gomez from Brazil.


Eri Uzbek from Turkey, Arif Satrstanto from Indonesia, Enrico LaCosta Prince from Cuba, and Mahdi Ruzbahani from Iran received honorable mentions awards.  


The winners were selected based on their depiction of the subject matter and the strength and effectiveness of their satire.


The jury also awarded prizes to two caricaturists. Shiva Zamanfar from Iran won the first prize and Woo Jiang Jun from China received the plaque of honor.    






News Code 6352

Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 7 + 6 =