Speaker Larijani reelected by MPs

TEHRAN, May 27 (MNA) -- Ali Larijani was re-elected by the MPs as the Majlis speaker for the second year.

Larijani first became speaker in 2008 when the current parliament took office.


Winning the majority of votes in the parliament -- 216 votes out of a total 241 ballots -- he remained speaker for another year.


A number of 25 lawmakers abstained.  


Larijani was the only candidate for the post. And the Majlis minority faction didn’t name any member for the post. 


Mohammad-Hassan Abutorabi-Fard, Mohammad-Reza Bahonar were also reelected as deputy speakers; no changes were made to members of the Majlis Presiding Board.    


Larijani was elected to parliament from the shrine city of Qom. He was the Supreme National Security Council chief and Iran’s top negotiator in nuclear talks before resigning the post in October 2008. He also served as the national TV chief for ten years.






News Code 33990

Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 5 + 10 =