Iran in tough group in Asian Cup qualification

DOHA, Qatar, July 4 (MNA)-- Iran was drawn with Thailand, Jordan and Singapore in Group E of the 2011 Asian Cup qualifying round on Thursday.

A total of twenty teams are divided in five groups of four. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the event, along with 2007 Asian Cup defending champion, Iraq, runner-up, Saudi Arabia, third-placed, South Korea, Qatar (host), and the champions of AFC Challenge Cup 2008 and 2010.

Groups are as follow:
A: Japan, Bahrain, Hong Kong, Yemen
B: Australia, Indonesia, Oman, Kuwait
C: Uzbekistan, the UAE, Malaysia, India
D: Vietnam, China, Syria, Lebanon
E: Iran, Thailand, Jordan , Singapore

The qualifying round will be kicked off on January 14, 2009 and be finished on March 3, 2010.


News Code 28785

Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 5 + 0 =