Literati honor best of Iran’s post-revolution cinema

TEHRAN, July 1 (MNA) -- The best of Iranian cinema over the past 30 years were honored in a celebration held by the Society for Cinema Critics and Screenwriters (SCCS) of Iran on Monday.

Director of Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting (IRIB) Ezzatollah Zarghami, Tehran’s Mayor Mohammad-Baqer Qalibaf, and a group of cinematic figures attended the ceremony which was held at Tehran’s Vahdat Hall.


The ceremony began with the tribute paid to the founders of the society Abolqasem Talebi, Fereidun Jeirani and Gholamreza Musavi, and the society’s previous managers.


Actress Mahtab Nasirpur holds the prize she received from the Society for Cinema Critics and Screenwriters (SCCS) for her role in “Child of the Earth” during a ceremony held on June 30 at Tehran’s Vahdat Hall to honor the best of Iranian cinema over the past 30 years. From right to left, actor Davud Rashidi, screenwriter Farhad Tohidi, director Mohammad Shirvani, and producer Gholamreza Musavi are seen in the background. (Mehr/Sara Sassani)


The SCCS was established in 1996 by a team of veteran critics.


The program continued by a video music screening in memory of the recently-deceased critic Amir-Javad Esmaeili.


Honoring the leading magazines “Bani Film”, “Cinema”, “World of Cinema”, and “Cinema Industry” was also arranged amongst the programs.


Afterwards, the jury handed the SCCS’s plagues to the top selected figures of last year’s Fajr Film Festival in different sections of short films, long and short documentaries, acting, screenplay, directing, and film.


The plaques went to short film “Boomerang” by Dariush Gharibzadeh, short documentary “Cyanosis” by Rokhsareh Qaemmaqami, documentary “Tinar” by Mehdi Moniri, and the feature-length movie “So Simple” by Reza Mirkarimi.


Actress Mahtab Nasirpur for her role in “Child of the Earth” and actor Reza Naji for his role in “The Song of Sparrows” also received the society’s plaques.


The jury also handed its plaques to directors Mohammad-Ali Basheh-Ahangar “Child of the Earth” and screenwriter Behnam Behzadi “We Only Live Twice”.


Veteran critics Zaven Qukasian and Tahmasb Solhju were honored during the program as well.


Best of Iran’s cinema in the past 30 years were the last that were honored at the celebration.


At the best critic section, Javad Tusi, Ahmad Talebinejad, Tahmasb Solhju, Shahram Jafarinejad, Khosro Dehqan, Robert Safarian, Saeid Mostaghasi, Mohammad-Taqi Fahim, Mehrzad Danesh, and Amir Qaderi were honored.


Ezzatollah Entezami, Parviz Parastuii, Khosro Shakibaii, Reza Kianian and Fatemeh Motamed-Arya were selected the best actors and best actress.


Screenwriter Bahram Beizaii and film producers Morteza Shayesteh and Majid Modaressi were selected the best.


Directors Ebrahim Hatamikia at the Sacred Defense genre, Majid Majidi and Reza Mirkarimi at the spiritual film genre, Kamal Tabrizi in comedy, Rasul Sadr-Ameli in melodrama, Kiumars Purahmad in children’s genre, and Masud Kimiaii in social genre were selected by the society as the best directors.


The critics also introduced “The Glass Agency” by producer Mehdi Karimi, “Children of Heaven” by Majid Majidi, “Mother” produced by Morteza Shayesteh, and “Captain Khorshid” and “Hamun” by producer Harun Yashaii as the top films.


The celebration ended with a live performance by traditional singer Shahram Nazeri.





News Code 28742

Your Comment

You are replying to: .
  • 1 + 4 =